Up Arrow

New Hampshire

Send your Notice to Owner or file your Mechanic's Lien with Florida's best NTO service

We care about your money as much as you do!

Send or file your document
in under 5 minutes



Pricing starts at $18* | See pricing optionsSunRay State Resources

New Hampshire Lien & Bond Claim Deadlines

What is your project type?
Play Icon
What is your role on the project?
Preliminary Notice
Recommended but not required

Preliminary Notice

Although it is not a legal requirement to send a Preliminary Notice as a contractor in New Hampshire, it is the best business practice to do so. Sending a Preliminary Notice advises all parties that you are working on the residential project and helps you get paid faster.

Lien
120 days from last furnishing

Contractor's Lien

This is a two step process. A lawsuit and Writ of Attachment must be filed by the general contractor on the New Hampshire residential job within 120 days after the last performance. Once the court makes it's determination, the lien must be recorded in the New Hampshire public records. Best business practice is to file your Subcontract's Lien and Writ of Attachment within 90 days of the last performance.

Preliminary Notice
Before work begins

Preliminary Notice

Typically, a Notice of Intent to Lien means that you are about to lien the property, but that is not the case in New Hampshire. In New Hampshire, a Notice of Intent to Lien is a Preliminary Notice that is sent by the subcontractor either before, during, or after work on the residential job. The best business practice is to send it at the start of the job because a lien will only be valid for the amount due at the time of and after sending the Intent to Lien/ Preliminary Notice.

30 day notice statement
Every 30 days from start

30 Day Notice Statement

A 30-Day Notice Statement is only required to be sent by the subcontractors every 30 days for any outstanding invoices. It must include the outstanding balance as well as the cost of labor and/or materials supplied to the New Hampshire residential job during the 30-day time period.

Lien
120 days from last furnishing

Subcontractor's Lien

A lien must be heard 120 days after the last item of work or materials has been performed or furnished to the residential project by the subcontractor. The New Hampshire lien process is very different from other states. The state does not provide for an automatic lien. To secure a lien, you must 1) petition and file a lawsuit, and 2) Once heard by the judge the lien must be filed at the Registry of Deeds. Best business practice is to file your Petition and Law within 90 days of last furnishing labor and/or materials.

Preliminary Notice
Before work begins

Preliminary Notice

Typically, a Notice of Intent to Lien means that you as the supplier are about to lien the property, but that is not the case in New Hampshire. In New Hampshire, a Notice of Intent to Lien is a Preliminary Notice that is sent either before, during, or after work is completed on the residential job. The best business practice is to send it at the start of the job because a lien will only be valid for the amount due at the time of and after sending the Intent to Lien/ Preliminary Notice.

30 day notice statement
Every 30 days from start

30 Day Notice Statement

A 30-Day Notice Statement in New Hampshire is only required to be sent every 30 days for any outstanding invoices to the supplier. It must include the outstanding balance as well as the cost of labor and/or materials supplied to the residential project during the 30-day time period.

Lien
120 days from last furnishing

Subcontractor's Lien

A lien must be heard 120 days after the last item of work or materials has been performed or furnished by the supplier to the residential project. The New Hampshire Lien process is very different from other states. The state does not provide for an automatic lien. To secure a lien, you must 1) Petition and File a lawsuit, and 2) Once heard by the judge the lien must be filed at the Registry of Deeds. Best business practice is to file your Petition and Law within 90 days of last furnishing labor and/or materials.

What is your role on the project?
Preliminary Notice
Recommended but not required

Preliminary Notice

Although it is not a legal requirement to send a Preliminary Notice as a general contractor, it is the best business practice to do so for commercial projects in New Hampshire. Sending a Preliminary Notice advises all parties that you are working on the project and helps you get paid faster.

Lien
120 days from last furnishing

Contractor's Lien & Writ of Attachment

This is a two step process. A lawsuit and Writ of Attachment must be filed by the general contractor within 120 days after the last performance on the New Hampshire commercial project. Once the court makes it's determination, the lien must be recorded in the public records. Best business practice is to file your Subcontract's Lien and Writ of Attachment within 90 days of the last performance.

Preliminary Notice
Before work begins

Preliminary Notice

Typically, a Notice of Intent to Lien means that you are about to lien the property, but that is not the case in New Hampshire. In New Hampshire, a Notice of Intent to Lien is a Preliminary Notice that is sent either before, during, or after work. The best business practice is to send it at the start of the job because a lien will only be valid for the amount due at the time of and after sending the Intent to Lien/ Preliminary Notice.

30 day notice statement
Every 30 days from start

30 Day Notice Statement

A 30-Day Notice Statement is only required to be sent by the subcontractor every 30 days for any outstanding invoices in New Hampshire. It must include the outstanding balance as well as the cost of labor and/or materials supplied during the 30-day time period.

Lien
120 days from last furnishing

Subcontractor's Lien

A lien must be heard 120 days after the last item of work or materials has been performed or furnished to the commercial project by the subcontractor. The lien process in New Hampshire is very different from other states. The state does not provide for an automatic lien. To secure a Lien, you must 1) Petition and File a lawsuit, and 2) Once heard by the judge the lien must be filed at the Registry of Deeds. Best business practice is to file your Petition and Law within 90 days of last furnishing labor and/or materials.

Preliminary Notice
Before work begins

Preliminary Notice

Typically, a Notice of Intent to Lien means that you are about to lien the property, but that is not the case in New Hampshire for suppliers. In New Hampshire, a Notice of Intent to Lien is a Preliminary Notice that is sent either before, during, or after work on the commercial job. The best business practice is to send it at the start of the job because a lien will only be valid for the amount due at the time of and after sending the Intent to Lien/ Preliminary Notice.

30 day notice statement
Every 30 days from start

30 Day Notice Statement

A 30-Day Notice Statement is only required to be sent by the supplier every 30 days for any outstanding invoices on the commercial property in New Hampshire. It must include the outstanding balance as well as the cost of labor and/or materials supplied during the 30-day time period.

Lien
120 days from last furnishing

Subcontractor's Lien

A lien must be filed by the supplier 120 days after the last item of work or materials has been performed or furnished to the commercial job. New Hampshire lien process is very different from other states. The state does not provide for an automatic lien. To secure a Lien, you must 1) Petition and File a lawsuit, and 2) Once heard by the judge the lien must be filed at the Registry of Deeds. Best business practice is to file your Petition and Law within 90 days of last furnishing labor and/or materials.

What is your role on the project?
Statutory Documents are not required for General Contractors
Preliminary Notice
Recommended but not required

Preliminary Notice

Although it is not a legal requirement to send a Preliminary Notice, it is the best business practice to do so as a subcontractor. Sending a Preliminary Notice advises all parties that you are working on the New Hampshire state project and helps you get paid faster.

Claim on Bond
90 days from last furnishing

Claim on Bond

A Claim on Bond must be filed by the New Hampshire subcontractor 90 days after last furnishing of labor and/or materials to the state job.

Lien Upon Funds
90 days from last furnishing

Lien Upon Funds

Subcontractor must file within 90 days after completion and acceptance of the project by the public entity in New Hampshire.

Preliminary Notice
Recommended but not required

Preliminary Notice

Although it is not a legal requirement to send a Preliminary Notice as a supplier to a state job in New Hampshire, it is the best business practice to do so. Sending a Preliminary Notice advises all parties that you are working on the project and helps you get paid faster.

Claim on Bond
90 days from last furnishing

Claim on Bond

A supplier must file a Claim on Bond 90 days after last furnishing of labor and/or materials to the state job in New Hampshire.

Lien Upon Funds
90 days from last furnishing

Lien Upon Funds

A Lien Upon Funds must be filed by the supplier within 90 days after completion and acceptance of the project by the public entity in New Hampshire

What is your role on the project?
Statutory Documents are not required for General Contractors
Preliminary Notice
Recommended but not required

Preliminary Notice

Although it is not a legal requirement to send a preliminary notice for federal projects, it is best practice for subcontractors to do so. Sending a preliminary notice advises all parties that you are working on the project and helps you get paid faster.

Claim on Bond
90 days from last furnishing

Miller Act Notice

Miller Act Notice needs to be sent by the subcontractor 90 days from last furnishing of labor and/or materials to the federal project.

Preliminary Notice
Recommended but not required

Preliminary Notice

Although it is not a legal requirement for suppliers to send a preliminary notice, it is best practice to do so for federal projects. Sending a preliminary notice advises all parties that you are working on the project and helps you get paid faster.

Claim on Bond
90 days from last furnishing

Miller Act Notice

A Miller Act Notice is required to be sent by the supplier 90 days from last furnishing of labor and/or materials to the federal project.

Deadline Calculator
Deadline Calculator
Deadline Calculator
Change State
Deadline Calculator
FAQ's

Learning Center

Don't take our word for it! Trusted by 1000s.

Dots

Don't take our word for it! Trusted by 1000s.

Dots

New Hampshire Lien Law Articles

Stay updated with our blog articles on preliminary notice, notice of intent to lien, mechanic's lien and claim on bond. We cover every update in the lien law in all the 50 states. Subscribe to our newsletter to receive all our updates

No items found.
More blogs

New Hampshire Lien and Bond Claim FAQs

Frequently asked questions on New Hampshire preliminary notice, mechanics lien and claim on bond

We are working hard to bring you more useful resources. Check back soon!
Don't see your question? Drop us a line and we will
get back within 1 business day.